Driver’s License Suspension Attorney Dallas, TX
Texas License Suspension Laws for DWI
In Texas, if you’re arrested for driving while intoxicated, you will receive an administrative suspension of your driver’s license. The suspension is separate from the penalties imposed if you’re found guilty of driving while intoxicated. Despite your criminal case not being resolved, you could lose your driving privileges. Driving is a necessary component of life. Without a driver’s license, you won’t be able to drive to work or drop your kids off at school. Not having a driver’s license will certainly put additional stress on an already stressful situation. YOU CAN FIGHT BACK! You can contest your driver’s license suspension! You do this through a hearing, and you should hire an attorney to help you through this process.
At the Aulbaugh Law Firm, James understands the hardships of not being able to drive due to a driver’s license suspension. James will fight to protect your driving privileges.
As a former Chief Felony Prosecutor and Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist, James Aulbaugh is ready to assist you with your case. Call Today: (214) 380-3383.
How Long Is A Driver’s License Suspension due to a DWI Arrest in Texas?
Factors that determine how long your driver’s license is suspended after a DWI arrest:
- Blood alcohol concentration level
- Refusal of a breath or blood test
- Whether you have a commercial driver’s license
21 Years of Age and Over
If you refused to take a blood or breath test after your DWI arrest, your driver’s license could be suspended for:
- 180 days for a first time offender
- 2 Years for a second refusal within 10 years of the previous
If you took a breath or blood test and your BAC was .08 or higher, your driver’s license could be suspended for:
- 90 days for a first time offender
- 1 year for a second time offender
Under 21 Years of Age
If you are under 21 years of age and refused to take a breath or blood test, your driver’s license could be suspended for:
- 180 days for a first time offender
- 2 years for a second time offender
If you took a breath or blood test and had any detectable amount of alcohol in your system, your driver’s license could be suspended for:
- 60 days for a first time offender
- 120 days for previously failing or refusing a breath or blood test
- 180 days for 2 or more previous suspensions for failing or refusing a breath or blood test or convictions for an alcohol-related offense
5-Star Client Testimonials
"Made a connection with me that was below the surface level."Molly H.
"He restored my faith in attorneys."Stacy G.
"Aulbaugh Law Firm is amazing! True experts."James N.
How to Request a License Suspension Hearing
After being arrested for DWI, an officer will confiscate your driver’s license and give you a temporary driving permit and a notice of suspension. To contest your driver’s license suspension, you must request a hearing within 15 days of receiving the notice. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license 40 days after your arrest.
At the hearing, you have the opportunity to present evidence supporting your assertion that the suspension of your driving privileges is not warranted. An Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) will determine whether or not the suspension should be upheld. The ALJ decision may also be appealed.
James Aulbaugh, your Dallas driver’s license suspension attorney, is here to guide you through the hearing process. We handle everything, from presenting evidence at your hearing to filing an appeal.
Call to Discuss Your Driver’s License Case Today
If you’re facing a driver’s license suspension, reach out to the Aulbaugh Law Firm as soon as possible.
QualityWe dedicate ourselves daily to our mission of providing the best possible result while providing the highest-caliber experience.
You'll get James and an entire team behind you, with personal calls, frequent meetings, and constantly-updated communication.
AccreditedBoard Certification in Criminal Law gives him the expertise to utilize every legal option and defense applicable to your case.
ExperienceJames’ extensive experience as a former Chief Felony Prosecutor gives him unique insight into the charges you face and how to beat them.
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our dedicated legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (214) 380-3383.